Tuesday, January 01, 2008

He's Changing The World With Romance

New Fast Automatic Daffodils - The Peel Sessions

1. Purple Haze
2. Man Without Qualities II
3. Jaggerbog
4. Big II (Instrumental)
5. Get Better
6. Part Four
7. Man Without Qualities One

To kick off 2008 I'm going to revisit one of the most popular posts of last year. Back in April 2007 I wrote a piece reappraising the incredible 'Pigeonhole' LP by the New Fast Automatic Daffodils and it seemed to strike a chord with many of you. I wasn't alone in believing the band was massively underrated as a series of comments in response to the post testified. I've always said that one of the best things about doing this blog is being able to write about and share the music of bands that have seemingly been forgotten in the wider world. It was great to get such a positive response, and allow people to share their experiences of the New FADS. You can find the original post and read all the comments here.

Above you'll find the two Peel sessions the New FADS recorded, zipped up into one folder. They're brilliant sessions, managing to capture some of the fierce intensity of the band live. Tracks 1 - 4 were recorded on 19th December 1989; tracks 5 - 7 11th November 1990. From a frenzied thrash through Jimi Hendix's 'Purple Haze', an instrumental version of the seminal 'Big', both parts of 'Man Without Qualities' ('One' is one of the best things they ever did) and the blistering, funked up 'Jaggerbog', this is quality stuff. I'm still waiting for a wise label to remaster and reissue 'Pigeonhole' and kick off a well deserved period of New FADS adulation. As I mentioned in the original post, it is more than worthy of the treatment, and it is now pretty evident that many others share this view.

So, Happy New Year to you all. My life changed forever with the birth of my daughter on Christmas Day, but I'm still hoping to be able to keep this place up, between all the nappies and sleepless nights! Have a good one yerselves!

Search eBay for New Fast Automatic Daffodils
New FADS fansite- a work in progress
New FADS My Space
New FADS discography